ESPYs 2018

ESPYs 2018 Live This year’s ESPYs will be hosted by Danica Patrick, a former professional race car driver. She will be the first woman to host the ESPYs in the history of the ceremony. Former NFL star Peyton Manning hosted last year.

The majority of awards at the ESPYs are voted on by fans online, but in this year’s edition—the 26th in the history of the ceremony—some accolades have already been decided. Jim Kelly will receive the Jimmy V Award for his battle against cancer, while the victims of Larry Nassar will receive the Arthur Ashe Courage Award in recognition for their bravery in speaking out against the former US gymnastic coach.

The Jimmy V Award for Perseverance, a prestigious award named after basketball coach Jimmy Valvano who lost his life to cancer, goes this year to Jim Kelly. Kelly is a hall of fame quarterback who has been battling cancer repeatedly throughout the past five years.

Other important awards include the Arthur Ashe Courage Award which is going to the victims who spoke out against former gymnastics doctor Larry Nasser. The show is also honoring the three coaches who lost their lives in the Parkland school shooting earlier this year with the Best Coach Award.

Although many of the awards are decided by award voting, some are decided beforehand. This year, Jim Kelly will be the Jimmy V Award for his determination in his battle with cancer.

Additionally, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School coaches Aaron Feis, Scott Beigel and Chris Hixon will be posthumously awarded the Best Coach Award for their selfless acts on Feb. 14 during the tragic school shooting.

Another prominent ESPY award, the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, will go to the Larry Nassar victims for their bravery in coming forward and speaking out against Nassar.

JIMMY V. PERSEVERANCE AWARD RECIPIENT 2018: The 2018 recipient of the Jimmy V. Perseverance Award is Jim Kelly. Kelly is receiving the honor for his battle with cancer.


PAT TILLMAN AWARD FOR SERVICE RECIPIENT 2018: Jake Woods is this year’s recipient of the Pat Tillman Award for Service.


MUHAMMAD ALI HUMANITARIAN AWARD 2018 FINALISTS: These finalists include WWE Superstar John Cena, Seattle Seahawk Doug Baldwin, Golden States Warrior Kevin Durant and Houston Texan J.J. Watt, according to Last Word on Pro Wrestling. The winner will be announced at the 2018 Humanitarian Awards on ESPN, on July 19, 2018. The Humanitarian Awards air from 7 – 8 p.m. ET on ESPN.


ARTHUR ASHE COURAGE AWARD RECIPIENTS 2018: This year’s Arthur Ashe Courage Award recipients are the survivors of former US gymnastics doctor Larry Nassar’s sexual misconduct and assault incidents over the years. According to Newsweek, they are receiving the awards in recognition of their bravery for speaking out against Nassar.

The U.S. Women’s Hockey gold medal match against Canada and Shaun White’s gold medal run are among the nominees for best Olympic moments, while Ben Simmons and Donovan Mitchell are in with a chance to be named best breakthrough athlete of the year.

Kevin Durant could win the best championship performance award after inspiring the Warriors to a third NBA title in four years, but faces competition from Houston Astros star George Springer and Villanova’s Donte DiVincenzo.

Is it too late to vote for the 2018 ESPY Awards?

No, voting is still open and fans can find the full list of nominees online and submit their votes Online.